Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In


 Content Editor ‭[1]‬

German Society for Insurance and Financial Mathematics (DGVFM)

The German Society for Insurance and Financial Mathematics ("Deutsche Gesellschaft für Versicherungs- und Finanz­mathematik e.V.", DGVFM) is the scientific partner organisation of DAV with approximately 5,200 individual and 70 institutional members. The DGVFM promotes a close cooperation between universities (research and teaching) and the insurance business and finance industry (professional practice). Furthermore the DGVFM has close contact with other mathematical organisations in Germany like the German Mathematician Association ("Deutsche Mathematiker­vereinigung", DMV) or the German Society of Insurance Science ("Deutscher Verein für Versicherungswissenschaft", DVfVW).

Gauss Prize

To support and motivate especially scientists and young actuaries to investigate open actuarial questions, the DGVFM and DAV have established the annual Gauss Prize in 1998. It awards up to three papers with high practical relevance. The aim is to build bridges between actuarial science and the insurance and finance industry. The prizes are endowed with a prize money of 10.000 Euro and 2.000 Euro each and will be awarded at the Annual Meeting of DAV and DGVFM.

Previous prize winners:

2017: Pricing of Cyber Insurance Contracts
by Prof. Dr. Stefan Weber, Kerstin Weske and Prof. Dr. Matthias Fahrenwaldt

2016: no prize awarded

2015: Decomposing life insurance liabilities into risk factors
by Katja Schilling, Dr. Daniel Bauer, Dr. Marcus Christiansen and Dr. Alexander Kling

2014: no prize awarded

2013: Pension Saving Schemes with Return Smoothing Mechanism
by Prof. Dr. Oskar Goecke


Prof. Dr. Ralf Korn (President)
Prof. Dr. Angelika May (Vice President)
Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Zwiesler (Vice President)
Prof. Dr. Alfred Müller (research & knowledge transfer)
Prof. Dr. Matthias Scherer (research &knowledge transfer)
Prof. Dr. Hanspeter Schmidli
Prof. Dr. Jan-Philipp Schmidt
Dr. Wilhelm Schneemeier
Prof. Dr. Stefan Weber (education & advanced training)
Prof. Dr. Henryk Zähle

 Content Editor ‭[2]‬

Further information

For further questions related to the association, it's structure and aims please contact CEO

Michael Steinmetz, 0221/912 554-110

 Content Editor ‭[3]‬


Data privacy

Become an actuary
Membership information
International involvement

Annual meetings
Autumn meetings
ICA 2018

Practice areas
The European Actuary
European Actuarial Journal